Summer Travels, Part 1

Between June 4 and June 20, I traveled over 3800 miles.  In fact, between early morning June 11 and late night June 12, I traveled through 8 states and 3 time zones.  Needless to say, I’m a little tired of being in a car!

Why was I on the road so much this month?  Was I on a multi-state book tour?  Did I ditch my responsibilities and decide to be a groupie, following my favorite band across the country?  Nope, nothing like that! I spent the first half of my travels as a sponsor with our church youth group at camp in Glorieta, New Mexico.  Week 2 of my cross country trek was a family vacation to Indiana and Michigan.  Rather than cram all my travel details into a single post, I will share some of the highlights of Glorieta today and follow up with a Part 2 to this post later this week with pictures from our travels up north.


Late Sunday night, June 4, we loaded 76 teens and 12 sponsors on our church bus and a charter bus and headed out to Glorieta, New Mexico.  I was privileged enough to get to tag along on this trip as a sponsor.  Yep, as surprising as that may sound, our Youth Pastor deemed me responsible enough to be in charge of teens at camp…perhaps because he has only known me for a year :D!

After traveling 16 hours we reached our destination – high in the mountains of New Mexico.  It was absolutely beautiful…I wish I had taken more pictures along the way and while we were there.  However, between Rebecca and I, I think we did pretty well.  The picture above is of the chapel on the grounds of the camp.

Once we arrived at camp, the teens had to play a series of games in order to get their camp registration packets.  Here is a shot of our teens getting instructions for one of the games.

Each evening our group had a different theme and the teens could earn points for their family by dressing up.  Monday night was cowboy night, which gave Rebecca and I a chance to wear our sparkly Southwood cowboy hats!

Each morning the entire camp would meet together for a worship service and then the Cypress group would break off and have a separate Bible study.  That was followed by 30 minutes of quiet, devotional time and then a short all Cypress meeting.  We would then break up into our 12-13 student family groups for the remainder of the morning.  Afternoons were free time for the teens during which they could hang out at the lake, play miniature golf or other games like horseshoes or basketball, or just hang out.  I like this picture of Rebecca and a couple of her friends looking out over the lake one afternoon during free time.

Our Youth Pastor also registered the teens for the ropes course and the zip line, so several of the teens spent a portion of their free time at these courses.  This is a picture of Rebecca and one of her friends before climbing the poles to the zip line!

Wednesday’s theme was Black and White.  I just liked this picture of Rebecca and some of her friends that evening.

Sidewalk Prophets was the worship band at camp the week we were there.  Rebecca’s family group ate dinner with the band Thursday evening and got several pictures with the band.  I believe this is one of the guitar players, although I can’t remember his name.  And in case you couldn’t guess, the theme for that evening was ’80s gym night!

One response to “Summer Travels, Part 1

  1. Pingback: Summer Travels, Part 2 | Walk On The Water

Leave a Reply

