I Remember

I Remember…thinking, “That car isn’t going to stop.”

I Remember…the taste of gunpowder when the airbag deployed.

I Remember…the not-so-wise doctor who told me there was no reason I walked away from the accident.

I Remember…the much wiser doctor who told me there had to be a reason I walked away from the accident.

I Remember…the daily regime of pills (sometimes as many as 20 a day), the weekly physical therapy, and the monthly steroid injections.

I Remember…the immobility and depression helping me pack on 100 pounds (60 of which don’t seem to want to leave).

I Remember…the freedom of finally living without pills and injections.

I Remember…setting goals for the Cypress 5K and praying that I could reach them.

I Remember…Rebecca leaving me in the dust just after the race started (Good for her…she had her own goals!).

I Remember…Thinking that Old Palmetto road seemed much longer on June 4.

I Remember…The feel of the index card I was handed as I crossed the finish line.

I Remember…The realization that God helped me reach all of my goals that day.

I Remember…Thinking it was silly to pray so much about completing a 5K.

I Remember…That nothing is impossible with God!

One response to “I Remember

  1. Tricia, I think it’s so cool that you did a 5k! I remember doing my first 5k and the sense of accomplishment that was for a non-runner like myself! It was an amazing feeling! Good for you!

Leave a Reply

