Final Projects

In case you haven’t heard, today was our last day of school.  Not only was this the last day of our school year, but it was also the last day for our home school.  Next year, all three of our children will be in public school.  As a final assignment, Rebecca and Timothy were asked to write a letter to someone in which they talked about the advantages and disadvantages of home schooling. I decided I would publish their letters here.

Rebecca’s final project for Grade 8:

Dear You:

Hey! How’s life?  Mine’s going pretty well, today is my last day of eighth grade!  I have a bunch of plans for summer, and I know that it’s gonna be a great summer!  Then I start my freshman year as a Cowboy at Southwood High School!  Since today is my last day of Homeschool, I’m going to give you some of the benefits and downsides of Homeschooling.

There are multiple benefits to Homeschooling.  You have more free time to spend with family or other Homeschooled friends.  You never have to worry about Homework, because you git it all done in class.  You can work at your own pace, and you can get all the extra help you need!  You also have some input for what you study, and you can be pretty creative for how you do it.  Lastly your schedule can be really flexible!

For me, there were a few downsides to homeschooling too.  First, you’re in a class by yourself, and you don’t get to see your friends everyday.  It’s also hard to play sports or do extracurricular activities like choir or Student Council.  Lastly, it can be hard to decide what to do with all your free-time!  Haha.

Homeschooling has been great and I think I’m gonna miss it a little next year.  I am excited to be at a public school, but Home school will always hold a special place in my heart!

Love,

Rebecca

Timothy’s final project for Grade 5:

Dear Someone,

Hey, this is Timothy.  How are you doing?  I am doing good.  It is beautiful down here.  How is your family?  Mine is good.  Here are some benefits about homeschooling.

The benefits are you can go on more field trips in homeschool.  School is much shorter, sometimes.  You can also have some input in what you study, and if you like spending time with your parents this is for you.

There are downsides too.  There is a lot more writing.  You can’t play many sports.  This might be a downside for you – you have a small class.

My conclusion is that homeschooling is fun.  There are a couple downsides, but otherwise it is very fun.

Timothy

Leave a comment