Chocolate Peanut Butter Banana Muffins

On my quest to eat healthier (thanks a lot Sarah Taplin!) I have been searching on-line for healthy snack recipes.  Yesterday I found a recipe for chocolate peanut butter banana muffins and was amazed to find that I had (almost) everything I needed to make these muffins – even the overripe bananas.

As is my way, I changed the recipe up just a little and made it my own.  I don’t think my changes made the recipe any less healthy, they just worked with what I had on hand.  The muffins turned out great and even TJ (who hates bananas, banana bread, etc.) has eaten two of them so far this afternoon.

Chocolate Peanut Butter Banana Muffins

Ingredients

  • 3 large overripe bananas
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1 Tbsp ground flax seed
  • 1/2 cup unbleached flour
  • 1/2 cup cocoa powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips
  • 1/4 cup peanut butter (I used homemade from almonds and raw cashews, but any will work)

Method

Preheat oven to 350.  Lightly grease a 12 cup muffin pan.

In a large mixing bowl, mash the bananas with a fork.  Stir in the honey, egg, and applesauce.

In a medium mixing bowl, stir together the pastry flour, ground flax seed, unbleached flour, cocoa powder, salt, baking powder and baking soda.

Add the dry mixture to the wet mixture and gently fold together.  Add in the chocolate chips.

Fill each muffin cup about half full.

Add 1 tsp of peanut butter to the middle of each cup.

Top each muffin cup with the remaining batter and smooth over to cover the peanut butter.

Bake for 20 to 25 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in a muffin comes out with no wet chocolate batter.  Let the muffins cool in the pan for about 30 minutes and then remove from the pan and move to a wire rack to complete cooling.

Some notes about these muffins:

  1. The combination of the applesauce and bananas makes for a very moist muffin.  The next time I make them, I will use paper muffin liners, rather than just spraying the muffin cups.
  2. If your oven is bakes uneven like mine, you may have one or two chocolate peanut butter banana lava muffins – the two muffins in the center of our pan never get fully cooked, however they were still really good.
  3. Rebecca, TJ and I agreed that next time we will use more peanut butter in the filling.
Leave a Reply

