Homemade Granola Bars

I should really make a new tag and call it “post a month” because I am way behind in this post a day thing.  Oh well…

I’ve been trying to change up our eating habits at the Cobb house.  Nothing extreme, just trying to get more fruits and vegetables into our diet while reducing the amount of processed foods we eat.  I have spent the last few days reading blogs and recipe sites looking for some new recipes to try on the family.  I was really interested in finding a granola bar recipe.  I don’t like to eat a big meal at breakfast – I would rather just grab a granola bar.  The Special K bars are my favorite – Chocolate Pretzel, Raspberry Cheesecake…YUM.

I decided that if I was going to go to the trouble of making granola bars at home then they either had to be healthier, cheaper, or both.  I found several granola bar recipes, but even the ones labeled “healthy” had lots of butter and sugar added.  So, I decided to do something that I rarely do, and I created my own recipe.  I was really happy with the results.  Not only are they pretty darn yummy, but they have no preservatives, high fiber, and relatively low calories (If my numbers are correct, around 150 calories per bar).

Of course, since I didn’t know how they would turn out, I didn’t take any pictures along the way.  If I remember, I will take some more pictures of the next batch and post those (at my current rate of posting, look for those in mid-June!).  However I do have one picture of the bar, taken after they were cut and wrapped.

Homemade Granola Bars

Ingredients

  • 1  2/3 cup rolled oats
  • 1/3 cup wheat pastry flour
  • ¼ cup wheat bran
  • ½ tsp salt
  • ½ tsp cinnamon
  • 3 oz dried pineapple
  • ¼ cup dried cranberries
  • 1 Tbsp dried cherries
  • 1 oz chopped raw almonds
  • 1 oz chopped raw cashews
  • 1 Tbsp flax seed
  • 1 oz sunflower seeds
  • 1/3 cup nut butter
  • ¼ cup honey
  • ½ cup unsweetened applesauce

Method

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Spray an 8X8 baking dish with cooking spray.

Mix rolled oats, wheat flour, wheat bran, salt, and cinnamon in a bowl.  Add fruit, seeds, and nuts to the dry mixture.  In a separate bowl, whisk together nut butter and honey.  Add to the dry ingredients and mix really well.  Add applesauce and mix again.

Press the mixture into the greased 8X8 baking dish.  Bake for 30 minutes, until the edges are slightly brown.  Allow to cool completely and then cut and wrap.  Makes 16 square bars.

Some notes about these bars:

  1. They are really chewy, rather than being a crisp granola bar.
  2. The dried fruits, nuts, and seeds can be exchanged for just about anything you like.  The key is to have between 2 and 2 1/2 cups of this component – it can be all fruit, all nut, or any random combination.
  3. You can use any nut butter that you like.  I made my own with a combination of raw cashews and almonds, but any nut butter will work.
  4. I think I am going to try these in a 9X13 baking dish next, just to see if I like the texture of a thinner bar.

Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

