Post A Day Challenge

I really fell away from blogging at the end of last year.  Oh, I have a ton of really good excuses – I was working 40 hours a week, I was busy with the holidays, I was stressing over the last minute preparations for the sale of our Michigan house, and so on.  I missed writing, I just didn’t have the time, energy or desire to sit down and actually do it.

Thankfully, it’s a new year and most of the things keeping me from writing are out of the way – I am only working 15 hours a week, the holidays are passed, and the sale of our Michigan house is final (AMEN!).   When I logged in to my much neglected blog on January 1, I had a notification about a challenge WordPress started.  WordPress challenged bloggers to post every day in 2011.  I already accepted a Facebook challenge from my daughter (to post a picture a day in 2011), so I figured this post a day challenge was just what I needed to get back to writing.  Fortunately, as part of the challenge, WordPress is providing a topic suggestion each day.  I’m sure I won’t use their suggestion every day, but it is nice to know there will be some inspiration waiting for me when I can’t think of anything to write!  Today, for instance, I was going to write about our family’s New Year’s resolutions, but instead I would rather write about the topic that was suggested on Friday – Travel.  Specifically, the three countries I would most like to visit and why.

It was really hard to narrow down my travel list to just three countries.  I love to travel and experience new places and cultures.  First on my list, however, would have to be Japan.  I am fascinated by Japanese culture and history.  I am mesmerized by the beauty I see in so many pictures from Japan.  Plus – there’s sushi!

Second on my list would have to be Tanzania.  The kids and I watched a National Geographic series on Africa this fall for school.  It was amazing to see cultures that were so different from ours.  In addition, we have missionary friends in Tanzania and it would be wonderful to experience this new location with them as our tour guides.

Finally, I would love to go back to Spain.  I had the opportunity to travel there when I was in high school, but I would love to go back and spend more time exploring there.  I loved the history, the culture, the people, the climate, pretty much everything about it.

Well, while my list goes on and on (we can’t forget Chile, Brazil, Portugal, Russia, England, Ireland…) I think I will stick with those three countries for now.

Day 2, down…363 to go!

One response to “Post A Day Challenge

Leave a Reply

