A is for Alphabet Autobiography

A

Rebecca started a new assignment in Language Arts today – an Alphabet Autobiography. To complete this assignment, she needs to think of one or two words for each letter of the alphabet and write a paragraph or two telling how these words relate to her life. The can be places (for instance, B is for Bloomington, where she was born), hobbies (she could use C is for Crochet) or people (I’m sure she will think of her Marvelous Mama when she gets to M).

As we were getting started on this assignment today, I decided that it might be fun to do one as well and post my entries on the blog.  Of course, in addition to content differences, there will be two major differences between my autobiography and Rebecca’s:

  1. I anticipate taking several weeks (months?) to write my way through the alphabet and get my entries posted.  I can’t imagine working through more than 1 or 2 a week.  Rebecca has to finish her entire Alphabet Autobiography in less than 2 weeks.
  2. There is no way I would let Rebecca get away with using something as generic as “Alphabet Autobiography” for one of her entries.  (This is just one of the many reasons I love being the teacher instead of the student.  Another would be no more spelling tests)
Leave a Reply

