We Are Here

Whew.  What a long journey it has been to get to this point.  We made it from Mattawan, Michigan to Plain Dealing, Louisiana.  From one perspective, the trip took 16 hours over 2 days.  From another perspective, this journey took 3 1/2 months.

We are getting settled in now.  We have more than half of the boxes unpacked.  Most of the boxes that are still packed are books – no idea where we are going to put all of those.  We are also learning how to find our way to places like the store, the library, the post office, the farmer’s market, etc.  Our new home is nice, but it is out in the middle of nowhere.  It takes about 20 minutes to get to our new church and about 30 minutes to get to Wal-Mart.  The trip to the Kroger where we will do most of our grocery shopping is about 45 minutes.

I am having trouble getting pictures to upload, so no pictures right now.  I will be working on that over the next few days.  I am also trying to organize my notes to I can add posts about our journey to Louisiana and our first days here.  My goal is to post 5 to 7 times a week to keep everyone up to date on our new lives in Louisiana, so be sure to stop by often!

5 responses to “We Are Here

  1. Trish, thanks for sending me the link to your blog. It is great to watch God lead people off to do His work, and I subscribed to your blog, so I can keep up on your goings-on. How exciting to be in Louisiana! You’ll be talking like a cajun in no time, y’all. 😉

    Tell Becca hi, and I miss her!

    • Hey! We miss you guys too. This is definitely going to be an adjustment but it has really been neat to see the way God has opened so many doors for us these last few months. I will pass along your greetings to Becca!

  2. Glad to hear that you made it safely. I will be checking in the blog often. I know all to well the “getting to kow a new place” feeling. God Bless!

  3. I hope you enjoy your new home. We live in the middle of nowhere too, but the nearest grocery store and Walmart are still only 10 minutes away. The nearest Target is another matter. 🙂

  4. I’m so glad you all made it safely! Thank you for the link to your blog too! If God blesses me with the ability to move back to Oregon, I hope to live in the middle of nowhere too. It’s quieter, more peaceful and there’s room to breathe. I am sorry that it takes so long to get to the places you need to go though.

Leave a Reply

